Apply to the Accounting Doctoral Scholars Program

The application is closed.

The application deadline was Friday, October 7th, 2016.  The unofficial GMAT score report recevied at the testing center will be accepted as a placeholder for applications submitted by October 7, 2016.  The official GMAT score must be received by the Accounting Doctoral Scholars program by Tuesday, November 1, 2016.  Official reports must be mailed to the Accounting Doctoral Scholars Program, Attention: Steve Matzke, AICPA, 220 Leigh Farm Rd., Durham, NC 27707.

Program Overview: The Accounting Doctoral Scholars (ADS) Program provides awards, through participating universities, to individuals with recent public accounting experience in audit or tax to earn a doctorate in accounting with an emphasis in audit or tax. The ADS awards are funded by over 70 of the largest accounting firms, the majority state CPA societies, the AICPA and others. 

Application Process: The application process requires submission via mail of an application packet. The packet must include a completed eligibility statement, letters of reference, official transcripts, official GMAT test score, and written essay. The candidate should start very early in obtaining the letters of reference, transcripts and GMAT score report. If the test is more than five years old, the candidate should arrange immediately to retake the GMAT. Allow ample time to receive the score report. Three references must be submitted in sealed envelopes from their authors. All application materials including GMAT score and letters of reccomendation should be mailed in one envelope. 

Please mail to:
Accounting Doctoral Scholars Program
Attention: Steve Matzke
220 Leigh Farm Road
Durham, NC 27707

Eligibility: To be eligible for this program the candidate must meet the following requirements.

  • CPA required
  • Have minimum three years of responsible professional accounting experience, with a portion of that experience being within the last three years at the time of enrollment
  • U.S. citizen or permanent resident (green card holder)
  • Earned an undergraduate and/or masters degree in accounting
  • GMAT score of 650 or higher (must be less than 5 years old)
  • Will apply and gain acceptance to an ADS Participating University to pursue a Ph.D. in accounting with a concentration in audit or tax
  • Intent to teach and research, in audit or tax, at an U.S. AACSB accredited university upon graduation

Selection Process:
The selection of ADS Scholars is a two-step process. First, applications are evaluated based upon academic and professional achievements and potential for successfully earning a doctorate in accounting. Applicants whose profiles are deemed to be competitive for admission to several doctoral accounting programs are invited to a one-day orientation conference. Following participation in the conference, applicants are asked to confirm their commitment to apply for doctoral study in accounting at one or more participating universities for admission. The selection committee then selects the ADS Scholars from the remaining pool of candidates. 

Funding: In addition to university-supported funding, those selected for ADS funding will receive a total of $40,000 in supplemental milestone payments while working to earn their Ph.D. ($15,000 at enrollment, $5,000 for passing comprehensive exams, $5,000 upon approval of the dissertation proposal, $15,000 when the Ph.D. is conferred).  All payments are subject to the scholar’s continued satisfactory progress.

Universities Participating in 2017 Enrollment

Arizona State University City University of New York - Baruch     Bentley University
Drexel University Emory University Indiana University
Michigan State University Oklahoma State University Rutgers University
Syracuse University Temple University Texas A&M University
Texas Tech University The Ohio State University University of Alabama
University of Arkansas University of Connecticut University of Florida
University of Illinois - Urbana     University of Iowa University of Massachusetts   
University of Mississippi University of Missouri University of Nebraska
University of North Carolina University of North Texas University of Oklahoma
University of Oregon University of Pittsburgh University of Tennessee      
University of Texas at Austin    University of Wisconsin - Madison     Virginia Tech
University of Houston University of Illinois - Chicago